The Clock Hits Ninety (More or Less)

A Father Christmas
Act Two, Scene One
Pages, 3/24/06: 3
Current Total: 91

Nothing exciting to report, no breakthroughs or anything like that. I did get a timely e-mail from Tom the Author giving me some legal advice as I write the cross-x scene, which I’m trying to keep in mind. The grilling of the antagonist is about over, though – another page or so and it’s the protagonist’s turn.

In typical Faust fashion, I’m running long. Hitting page 91, I’m reminded that I thought this play would come in around 90 minutes – 45 minutes an act. Well, when I was in Barefoot in the Park last year, it was a good two hours long with the pacing cranked all the way up. Yeah, I know, it was Neil Simon, but this was early Neil Simon. He hadn’t yet become the 800 pound gorilla of theater.

So I’ll write the show long enough so I get to the end. Then I’ll edit it, then have friends over to do a read through and edit again. If the show goes into the next season with me directing, I’ll no doubt do some revising and cutting in production. We shall see where it all goes.

Listening:
Well I’ve brought the same piece of chicken in a bag
To work every day for the last twenty years or so
And I really don’t mind work assembly line
Got an intercom blasting the news and the latest on the baseball scores
Come around every Friday, well, I get a paycheck
Take the same road home that I come to work on – heck, it’s a living

(via iTunes shuffle play)

What are your thoughts?