Honor

What do I have in common with Ray Bradbury, Isaac Asimov, Anthony Burgess, and a handful of other SF luminaries whose shoes I am not worthy to lick?

The answer is, we all have novels recommended by the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame.

It seems that the Museum (located at the base of Seattle’s Space Needle – as cool a place as I could ever think of for such a thing) has a bunch of recommended reads in different categories of SF – and if you look under “Crime & Punishment” you’ll find A Death of Honor (spelled “Honour”) listed with 19 others… including Asimov’s The Naked Sun, Bradbury’s Farenheit 451, Burgess’s A Clockwork Orange, and a handful of other great titles by the likes of Alfred Bester, Poul Anderson, Harry Harrison, Hal Clement… plus Bear and Egan and Card and Disch and Zelazny…

So eighteen years after it comes out, I find out that maybe Honor was a better novel than I thought. Wow. I’m blown away by this.

Speaking of unexpected discoveries, here’s something I ran across while looking for information on the Russian editions of the Pembroke Hall novels on AST’s site – it’s yet another variation on a Russian book cover.


It bears a resemblance to the current omnibus edition (see the top of the parade o’covers over on the right), but leaves off any artwork related to their edition of Desperate Measures. The existing art is from the second two books in the trilogy, and from the looks of things, only the title from their edition of Precious Cargo appears on the cover.

I have no idea what this is. Is it a rough draft or the real cover of the omnibus? I guess I’ll have the answer when the package with my author’s copies finally arrives from AST. Though I must admit that the ad man in me thinks it would be hilarious if this was actually a release of the second two books of the trilogy… for those who only bought the first one. Very Pembroke Hall-ish.

NP – iTunes Shuffle Play (Mike Oldfield, “Jazz“)

What are your thoughts?

