Proper Haiku

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher tried to explain to the class (and me in particular) that haiku was supposed to be a word painting, a visual image, a snapshot of a moment in words.

Being a reckless sort of kid, I had fun with writing them then, adhering only to the 5/7/5 syllable rule. Even recently I played with the form, writing some haikus about spam.

So after lo these many years, on the way to do chickens and goats this morning, there was a visual snapshot that instantly translated itself into haiku. So now, after years of committing haiku abuse, here’s a look at what I saw this morning.

#1
Before dawn, lone cat
hungry, flickers toward barn
a tiny black hole

And then, while on the way to work this morning:

#2
window panes reflect
the reds and greys of the east
a brand new day comes

I wonder where my seventh grade English teacher is. She’d be happy to know that I finally, finally got it.

What are your thoughts?

