Going Digital

Hoo-hah! I just got a phone call from my agent. It seems that the powers-that-be at Palm Digital Media gave the green light to my proposed Author’s Intended Edition of the Pembroke Hall novels.

It’s a good thing that I’m only a day’s writing away from finishing chapter 13 of And/News. I wanted to be at a good stopping spot (as opposed to the middle of a sentence in the middle of an action scene) when I divert to work on the Palm project. Hopefully I can get that done in the next night or two. My plans are for 13 to end on an odd kind of cliffhanger (the revelation of a long-kept secret), so I think that’ll be a good place to leave off.

As for what I’ll be doing… this is a process that entails my combining the two manuscripts into one humungous Word file and then going through Bantam’s edits in the dead matter (the old copy-edited paper manuscript) and plugging the changes in. I don’t know how long this will take because I’ve never tried something like this before. All I know is that I’ll be dealing with well over 1,000 manuscript pages of text. I’m just thankful that what I turned in was clean (my Bantam editor told me it was the cleanest manuscript she’d ever seen). Although I’m sure there are lots of stylistic things to enter because the copy editors have to earn their pay somehow.

I’ll keep you posted (pun intended).

My agent also said that my first two novels, A Death of Honor and The Company Man are on their way over to Palm Digital’s OCR department for scanning and converting to PDA -readable format. So soon my complete published canon (to date anyway) will be in e-book form (the Angel’s Luck trilogy is already available).

I now return to my regularly scheduled day job, already in progress.

NP – Shine.FM

What are your thoughts?

